Make your own free website on Tripod.com
The Moladot

The Moladot

by Remy Landau

The time of the molad for any month is exactly 29d 12h 793p more than the time of the molad of the immediately preceding month.

The times of the moladot form an arithmetic progression in which one of the terms of that progression is given as BaHaRaD (2d 5h 204p), corresponding to the molad of Tishrei 1H (Mon 7 Sep -3760g).

The difference between successive terms in that progression is the time of the mean lunation period given as 29d 12h 793p.

For any given month of any given year, the time of its molad can be determined by multiplying the mean lunation period with the number of months that have preceded it since year 1H, and then adding BaHaRaD to that product.

The number of months up to year HY can be calculated using the following formula which is suggested by Wolfgang Alexander Shocken on page 35 of his book The Calculated Confusion of Calendars...

the integer of (235 * HY - 234) / 19

You then multiply the mean lunation time of 29d 12h 793p by the integer result for the total number of months.

To that time is added the value of BaHaRad, and the result provides you with the time of the molad of Tishrei for any Hebrew year HY.

To get the time of the molad for a specific month in the year HY, multiply the mean lunation period by the number of months that have elapsed since Tishrei of that year, and then add the product to the molad of Tishrei.

That value when reduced to days (0 to 6); hours (0 to 23); parts (0 to 1079) will give you the time of the molad for target year HY.

If you already know the time of the molad for a given month, then just add the mean lunation period to that time to get the time of the molad for the next month.

The total number of days is then divided by 7 and the remainder is the day of the week of the molad for that month.

In the following tables, the parts are further reduced into minutes and halaqim which are denoted by the hl suffix. There are 18 halaqim to the minute.

Halaqim and parts are the same units of time, each unit being 3 and 1/3 seconds, that is, 1 / 18th of one minute.

The Halaqim Progression

It is interesting to note that from month to month the halaqim ascend by exactly one heleq, going from 0 to 17 in perfect cyclical order.

29d 12h 793p equals 765,433 halaqim. Hence, the number of halaqim which are added to the time of the molad from month to month is 765,433.

When 765,433 is divided by 18 there is a remainder of 1, thus resulting in the single heleq difference from month to month.

An interesting bit of calendar trivia is that the number of halaqim in one month can be expressed as 765432 + 1, thus making that number very easy to remember and linking it indirectly to the number of week days.

See also Cycles and Moladot.

Rosh Hodesh

The 30th day of any Hebrew month is always observed as Rosh Hodesh. If the month is 30 days long, then the next day, which is the first day of the new Hebrew month, will also be observed as Rosh Hodesh.

The 30th day of any 29 day month is clearly the first day of the next month.

The first day of Tishrei is Rosh HaShana and therefore is not observed as Rosh Hodesh.

The time shown for the Moment of Molad is the formal result of the Halachic (i.e. Rabbinically mandated) calculation of the molad, as documented in Chapters 6-8 of Maimonides' Hilkhot Qiddush HaHodesh (4935H/1175g).

To convert the times shown in these tables into times on the civilian clock, subtract 6 hours. If there are less than 6 hours in the traditional time, then add 18 hours to that time and subtract one from the week day.

The Moladot for 5763H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Sat 12h 54m 10hl
 
Sat  7 Sep  2002g 
Heshvan
Mon  1h 38m 11hl
Sun  6 Oct  2002g 
Mon  7 Oct  2002g 
Kislev
Tue 14h 22m 12hl
Tue  5 Nov  2002g 
Wed  6 Nov  2002g 
Tevet
Thu  3h  6m 13hl
Thu  5 Dec  2002g 
Fri  6 Dec  2002g 
Shevat
Fri 15h 50m 14hl
 
Sat  4 Jan  2003g 
Adar
Sun  4h 34m 15hl
Sun  2 Feb  2003g 
Mon  3 Feb  2003g 
v'Adar
Mon 17h 18m 16hl
Tue  4 Mar  2003g 
Wed  5 Mar  2003g 
Nisan
Wed  6h  2m 17hl
 
Thu  3 Apr  2003g 
Iyar
Thu 18h 47m  0hl
Fri  2 May  2003g 
Sat  3 May  2003g 
Sivan
Sat  7h 31m  1hl
 
Sun  1 Jun  2003g 
Tammuz
Sun 20h 15m  2hl
Mon 30 Jun  2003g 
Tue  1 Jul  2003g 
Av
Tue  8h 59m  3hl
 
Wed 30 Jul  2003g 
Elul
Wed 21h 43m  4hl
Thu 28 Aug  2003g 
Fri 29 Aug  2003g 

The Moladot for 5764H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Fri 10h 27m  5hl
 
Sat 27 Sep  2003g 
Heshvan
Sat 23h 11m  6hl
Sun 26 Oct  2003g 
Mon 27 Oct  2003g 
Kislev
Mon 11h 55m  7hl
Tue 25 Nov  2003g 
Wed 26 Nov  2003g 
Tevet
Wed  0h 39m  8hl
Thu 25 Dec  2003g 
Fri 26 Dec  2003g 
Shevat
Thu 13h 23m  9hl
 
Sat 24 Jan  2004g 
Adar
Sat  2h  7m 10hl
Sun 22 Feb  2004g 
Mon 23 Feb  2004g 
Nisan
Sun 14h 51m 11hl
 
Tue 23 Mar  2004g 
Iyar
Tue  3h 35m 12hl
Wed 21 Apr  2004g 
Thu 22 Apr  2004g 
Sivan
Wed 16h 19m 13hl
 
Fri 21 May  2004g 
Tammuz
Fri  5h  3m 14hl
Sat 19 Jun  2004g 
Sun 20 Jun  2004g 
Av
Sat 17h 47m 15hl
 
Mon 19 Jul  2004g 
Elul
Mon  6h 31m 16hl
Tue 17 Aug  2004g 
Wed 18 Aug  2004g 

The Moladot for 5765H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Tue 19h 15m 17hl
 
Thu 16 Sep  2004g 
Heshvan
Thu  8h  0m  0hl
Fri 15 Oct  2004g 
Sat 16 Oct  2004g 
Kislev
Fri 20h 44m  1hl
 
Sun 14 Nov  2004g 
Tevet
Sun  9h 28m  2hl
 
Mon 13 Dec  2004g 
Shevat
Mon 22h 12m  3hl
 
Tue 11 Jan  2005g 
Adar
Wed 10h 56m  4hl
Wed  9 Feb  2005g 
Thu 10 Feb  2005g 
v'Adar
Thu 23h 40m  5hl
Fri 11 Mar  2005g 
Sat 12 Mar  2005g 
Nisan
Sat 12h 24m  6hl
 
Sun 10 Apr  2005g 
Iyar
Mon  1h  8m  7hl
Mon  9 May  2005g 
Tue 10 May  2005g 
Sivan
Tue 13h 52m  8hl
 
Wed  8 Jun  2005g 
Tammuz
Thu  2h 36m  9hl
Thu  7 Jul  2005g 
Fri  8 Jul  2005g 
Av
Fri 15h 20m 10hl
 
Sat  6 Aug  2005g 
Elul
Sun  4h  4m 11hl
Sun  4 Sep  2005g 
Mon  5 Sep  2005g 

The Moladot for 5766H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Mon 16h 48m 12hl
 
Tue  4 Oct  2005g 
Heshvan
Wed  5h 32m 13hl
Wed  2 Nov  2005g 
Thu  3 Nov  2005g 
Kislev
Thu 18h 16m 14hl
 
Fri  2 Dec  2005g 
Tevet
Sat  7h  0m 15hl
Sat 31 Dec  2005g 
Sun  1 Jan  2006g 
Shevat
Sun 19h 44m 16hl
 
Mon 30 Jan  2006g 
Adar
Tue  8h 28m 17hl
Tue 28 Feb  2006g 
Wed  1 Mar  2006g 
Nisan
Wed 21h 13m  0hl
 
Thu 30 Mar  2006g 
Iyar
Fri  9h 57m  1hl
Fri 28 Apr  2006g 
Sat 29 Apr  2006g 
Sivan
Sat 22h 41m  2hl
 
Sun 28 May  2006g 
Tammuz
Mon 11h 25m  3hl
Mon 26 Jun  2006g 
Tue 27 Jun  2006g 
Av
Wed  0h  9m  4hl
 
Wed 26 Jul  2006g 
Elul
Thu 12h 53m  5hl
Thu 24 Aug  2006g 
Fri 25 Aug  2006g 

The Moladot for 5767H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Sat  1h 37m  6hl
 
Sat 23 Sep  2006g 
Heshvan
Sun 14h 21m  7hl
Sun 22 Oct  2006g 
Mon 23 Oct  2006g 
Kislev
Tue  3h  5m  8hl
Tue 21 Nov  2006g 
Wed 22 Nov  2006g 
Tevet
Wed 15h 49m  9hl
Thu 21 Dec  2006g 
Fri 22 Dec  2006g 
Shevat
Fri  4h 33m 10hl
 
Sat 20 Jan  2007g 
Adar
Sat 17h 17m 11hl
Sun 18 Feb  2007g 
Mon 19 Feb  2007g 
Nisan
Mon  6h  1m 12hl
 
Tue 20 Mar  2007g 
Iyar
Tue 18h 45m 13hl
Wed 18 Apr  2007g 
Thu 19 Apr  2007g 
Sivan
Thu  7h 29m 14hl
 
Fri 18 May  2007g 
Tammuz
Fri 20h 13m 15hl
Sat 16 Jun  2007g 
Sun 17 Jun  2007g 
Av
Sun  8h 57m 16hl
 
Mon 16 Jul  2007g 
Elul
Mon 21h 41m 17hl
Tue 14 Aug  2007g 
Wed 15 Aug  2007g 

The Moladot for 5768H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Wed 10h 26m  0hl
 
Thu 13 Sep  2007g 
Heshvan
Thu 23h 10m  1hl
Fri 12 Oct  2007g 
Sat 13 Oct  2007g 
Kislev
Sat 11h 54m  2hl
 
Sun 11 Nov  2007g 
Tevet
Mon  0h 38m  3hl
 
Mon 10 Dec  2007g 
Shevat
Tue 13h 22m  4hl
 
Tue  8 Jan  2008g 
Adar
Thu  2h  6m  5hl
Wed  6 Feb  2008g 
Thu  7 Feb  2008g 
v'Adar
Fri 14h 50m  6hl
Fri  7 Mar  2008g 
Sat  8 Mar  2008g 
Nisan
Sun  3h 34m  7hl
 
Sun  6 Apr  2008g 
Iyar
Mon 16h 18m  8hl
Mon  5 May  2008g 
Tue  6 May  2008g 
Sivan
Wed  5h  2m  9hl
 
Wed  4 Jun  2008g 
Tammuz
Thu 17h 46m 10hl
Thu  3 Jul  2008g 
Fri  4 Jul  2008g 
Av
Sat  6h 30m 11hl
 
Sat  2 Aug  2008g 
Elul
Sun 19h 14m 12hl
Sun 31 Aug  2008g 
Mon  1 Sep  2008g 

The Moladot for 5769H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Tue  7h 58m 13hl
 
Tue 30 Sep  2008g 
Heshvan
Wed 20h 42m 14hl
Wed 29 Oct  2008g 
Thu 30 Oct  2008g 
Kislev
Fri  9h 26m 15hl
 
Fri 28 Nov  2008g 
Tevet
Sat 22h 10m 16hl
Sat 27 Dec  2008g 
Sun 28 Dec  2008g 
Shevat
Mon 10h 54m 17hl
 
Mon 26 Jan  2009g 
Adar
Tue 23h 39m  0hl
Tue 24 Feb  2009g 
Wed 25 Feb  2009g 
Nisan
Thu 12h 23m  1hl
 
Thu 26 Mar  2009g 
Iyar
Sat  1h  7m  2hl
Fri 24 Apr  2009g 
Sat 25 Apr  2009g 
Sivan
Sun 13h 51m  3hl
 
Sun 24 May  2009g 
Tammuz
Tue  2h 35m  4hl
Mon 22 Jun  2009g 
Tue 23 Jun  2009g 
Av
Wed 15h 19m  5hl
 
Wed 22 Jul  2009g 
Elul
Fri  4h  3m  6hl
Thu 20 Aug  2009g 
Fri 21 Aug  2009g 

The Moladot for 5770H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Sat 16h 47m  7hl
 
Sat 19 Sep  2009g 
Heshvan
Mon  5h 31m  8hl
Sun 18 Oct  2009g 
Mon 19 Oct  2009g 
Kislev
Tue 18h 15m  9hl
Tue 17 Nov  2009g 
Wed 18 Nov  2009g 
Tevet
Thu  6h 59m 10hl
Thu 17 Dec  2009g 
Fri 18 Dec  2009g 
Shevat
Fri 19h 43m 11hl
 
Sat 16 Jan  2010g 
Adar
Sun  8h 27m 12hl
Sun 14 Feb  2010g 
Mon 15 Feb  2010g 
Nisan
Mon 21h 11m 13hl
 
Tue 16 Mar  2010g 
Iyar
Wed  9h 55m 14hl
Wed 14 Apr  2010g 
Thu 15 Apr  2010g 
Sivan
Thu 22h 39m 15hl
 
Fri 14 May  2010g 
Tammuz
Sat 11h 23m 16hl
Sat 12 Jun  2010g 
Sun 13 Jun  2010g 
Av
Mon  0h  7m 17hl
 
Mon 12 Jul  2010g 
Elul
Tue 12h 52m  0hl
Tue 10 Aug  2010g 
Wed 11 Aug  2010g 

The Moladot for 5771H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Thu  1h 36m  1hl
 
Thu  9 Sep  2010g 
Heshvan
Fri 14h 20m  2hl
Fri  8 Oct  2010g 
Sat  9 Oct  2010g 
Kislev
Sun  3h  4m  3hl
Sun  7 Nov  2010g 
Mon  8 Nov  2010g 
Tevet
Mon 15h 48m  4hl
Tue  7 Dec  2010g 
Wed  8 Dec  2010g 
Shevat
Wed  4h 32m  5hl
 
Thu  6 Jan  2011g 
Adar
Thu 17h 16m  6hl
Fri  4 Feb  2011g 
Sat  5 Feb  2011g 
v'Adar
Sat  6h  0m  7hl
Sun  6 Mar  2011g 
Mon  7 Mar  2011g 
Nisan
Sun 18h 44m  8hl
 
Tue  5 Apr  2011g 
Iyar
Tue  7h 28m  9hl
Wed  4 May  2011g 
Thu  5 May  2011g 
Sivan
Wed 20h 12m 10hl
 
Fri  3 Jun  2011g 
Tammuz
Fri  8h 56m 11hl
Sat  2 Jul  2011g 
Sun  3 Jul  2011g 
Av
Sat 21h 40m 12hl
 
Mon  1 Aug  2011g 
Elul
Mon 10h 24m 13hl
Tue 30 Aug  2011g 
Wed 31 Aug  2011g 

The Moladot for 5772H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Tue 23h  8m 14hl
 
Thu 29 Sep  2011g 
Heshvan
Thu 11h 52m 15hl
Fri 28 Oct  2011g 
Sat 29 Oct  2011g 
Kislev
Sat  0h 36m 16hl
 
Sun 27 Nov  2011g 
Tevet
Sun 13h 20m 17hl
Mon 26 Dec  2011g 
Tue 27 Dec  2011g 
Shevat
Tue  2h  5m  0hl
 
Wed 25 Jan  2012g 
Adar
Wed 14h 49m  1hl
Thu 23 Feb  2012g 
Fri 24 Feb  2012g 
Nisan
Fri  3h 33m  2hl
 
Sat 24 Mar  2012g 
Iyar
Sat 16h 17m  3hl
Sun 22 Apr  2012g 
Mon 23 Apr  2012g 
Sivan
Mon  5h  1m  4hl
 
Tue 22 May  2012g 
Tammuz
Tue 17h 45m  5hl
Wed 20 Jun  2012g 
Thu 21 Jun  2012g 
Av
Thu  6h 29m  6hl
 
Fri 20 Jul  2012g 
Elul
Fri 19h 13m  7hl
Sat 18 Aug  2012g 
Sun 19 Aug  2012g 

The Moladot for 5773H
MonthMoment of MoladThe Roshei Hadashim
30th Day
Previous Month
1st Day
Present Month
Tishrei
Sun  7h 57m  8hl
 
Mon 17 Sep  2012g 
Heshvan
Mon 20h 41m  9hl
Tue 16 Oct  2012g 
Wed 17 Oct  2012g 
Kislev
Wed  9h 25m 10hl
 
Thu 15 Nov  2012g 
Tevet
Thu 22h  9m 11hl
 
Fri 14 Dec  2012g 
Shevat
Sat 10h 53m 12hl
 
Sat 12 Jan  2013g 
Adar
Sun 23h 37m 13hl
Sun 10 Feb  2013g 
Mon 11 Feb  2013g 
Nisan
Tue 12h 21m 14hl
 
Tue 12 Mar  2013g 
Iyar
Thu  1h  5m 15hl
Wed 10 Apr  2013g 
Thu 11 Apr  2013g 
Sivan
Fri 13h 49m 16hl
 
Fri 10 May  2013g 
Tammuz
Sun  2h 33m 17hl
Sat  8 Jun  2013g 
Sun  9 Jun  2013g 
Av
Mon 15h 18m  0hl
 
Mon  8 Jul  2013g 
Elul
Wed  4h  2m  1hl
Tue  6 Aug  2013g 
Wed  7 Aug  2013g 


To return to the top click here.
For other Additional Notes click here.

I'd love to hear from you. Please send your thoughts to:

Remy Landau

First  Paged 26 Apr 1998
Next Revised 18 Nov 2007